In the Community

This section provides information for Peace Region residents, Aboriginal groups, communities and property owners.

BC Hydro Peace Agricultural Compensation Fund

Notice of Annual Public Meeting 

The BC Hydro Peace Agricultural Fund will host a Virtual Annual Public Meeting on:

  • Tuesday, June 23, 2020 from 2:30pm – 3:30pm.

The Public Meeting will present the projects and grant intakes held to date, the state of the fund, and plans for future intakes. More details can be found here.

As part of the Site C Agricultural Mitigation and Compensation Plan, BC Hydro has established a $20 million fund to support agricultural production and related economic activity in the Peace Region.

The BC Hydro Peace Agricultural Compensation Fund is governed by a regional decision-making board, responsible for overseeing the management and disbursement of the fund.

The 10-member board is comprised of six members that are appointees of regional agricultural associations or the Peace River Regional District (PRRD), one member who is a Peace River Valley agricultural producer and three members-at-large.

The three members-at-large are all agricultural producers in the B.C. Peace Region and were appointed for different length terms, to ensure that one member-at-large position is open each year.

The Agricultural Fund is administered by Northern Development Initiative Trust on behalf of BC Hydro. Applications for funding are accepted on an ongoing basis and funds are distributed on a bi-annual basis.

The board and Northern Development Initiative Trust worked together in fall 2018 to develop a financial management plan for the fund, with a goal of preserving the $20 million capital investment and using investment returns for grants for the first five years.

To apply, visit the Northern Development Initiative Trust website.

As of March 2020, $399,128 has been distributed to 16 projects.

Recent Award recipients:

March 2020

On March 30, 2020, Northern Development Initiative Trust announced the recipients of the second round of BC Hydro Peace Agricultural Compensation Fund grants.

  • Kathleen Peck for the Canadian Acres Regenerative Agriculture Start-up project
  • Caitlin Vince for the Rustic Pantry, Farm-to-Table store start-up costs
  • Eden Greens Inc. for developing an indoor growing facility
  • Summit Acre Farms Ltd. for its Pulse Processing Feasibility study
  • North Peace Cattlemen’s Association for the 2020 BC Cattlemen’s Conference and AGM
  • Peace River Forage Seed Association of BC for its Forage Extension and Mentorship project
  • Peace Region Forage Seed Association for its Weather Monitoring Network Enhancement project
  • North Peace 4-H District Council for upgrades to the North Peace Fair Grounds beef show ring facilities
  • Hasberry Farms Inc. for its Bird Control-Pollination Trial for Commercial Haskap Production project

December 2019

On December 2, 2019, Northern Development Initiative Trust announced the first recipients of BC Hydro Peace Agricultural Compensation Fund grants.

  • B.C. Grain Producer’s Association for its Viability of Crops in the Peace Region research project
  • Blackbird Environmental Ltd. to establish the Peace Region Agricultural Drone Field School program
  • Northern Environmental Action Team for its Northern Co-Hort Extension and Outreach Program
  • Peace River Regional 4-H Council for its Leadership Training program in agriculture-related projects
  • Ardills Ranch Ltd. to build a wildlife control fence
  • RDR Ventures Ltd to expand the irrigation system at Rainey Ranch
  • Don Titus Parent Advisory Council in Chetwynd to implement an Agricultural Education program for students K–7

2019-2020 Board Members

Rick Kantz, B.C. Grain Producers Association
Heather Fossum, Peace River Forage Association of B.C.
Howard Goertz, Peace River Regional Cattlemen's Association
Connie Patterson, B.C. Breeder and Feeder Association
Blair Hill, Peace Region Forage Seed Association
Angela Watson, Peace River Regional District
Travis Winnicky, member-at-large (two-year term)
Malcolm Odermatt, member-at-large (three-year term)
Gene Gladysz, member-at-large (three-year term)
Colin Meek, Peace River Valley agricultural producer (two-year term)